UFC Undisputed 2010: Basic Tips

Credit goes to original creator ‘GStruwe’ on UFC Gaming Forums


50% physical / 50% mental

Anyone who’s watched The Ultimate Fighter will know this statement. It applies to the game as well, definitively. If you go into a fight thinking “oh, shit. this guy will absolutely tear me apart, I’ll get my ass handed to me.” you’re definitively not going to be able to go all out. Why? It’s simple psychology. If you embrace insecurity, you’re going to be insecure. Simple as that. How do we change that? Several different ways.

1. Don’t be scared. I can’t stress this enough. Yes, he might have a record of 853-23. But see those 23? That means he’s lost. This game is random, it’s full of suprises and options. Use them all, don’t be afraid to experiment to win. Experimentation makes champions.

2. Remain calm. This, I can’t stress enough either. You’re not going to win a fight by going apeshit and spamming transitions to get out of that full mount he’s tearing you apart from. Everyone’s got a pattern, even when trying to be random. When talking about people, random isn’t even a word. Yes, he might change his style alot, yes he might use your weaknesses to his advantage. But that doesn’t mean you have get angry at him, or at yourself. Try to always keep composure as you fight. I’m not saying I always do it, but I do it in Street Fighter and it got me far.

3. Never, EVER back down. This is the big daddy of important mindsets. Much like in real MMA, if you back down or hesitate. Chances are, you’re going to be KTFO’d, or submitted the crap out of. Be confident in your abilities, because everyone’s good at some aspect of the game. Me for example, I thought I was a pretty decent striker, until it showed that I wasn’t so very good at it after all. I’m not bad, but Ryan Bader doesn’t have many options on his feet. So, I learned the ground game and I’m alot better there. I’m confident being mounted on someone. What does my life story have to do with this point? I don’t back down from a challenge, I’ve fought some of the top guys on the leaderboards. Yes, I’ve lost – but I sure didn’t back out on fighting them. I gave them my all, I fought to the best of my abilities.

4. Losing isn’t necessarily bad. Don’t give me that look, we all know that we lose sometimes. Sometimes due to doing something stupid, sometimes due to someone picking Frank Mir and submitting you within 23 seconds. Or simply because you didn’t know how to properly counter a situation. Are these bad things? Not exactly. Use a loss as a motivator rather than a mere number on showing the world how “bad” you are. I have nearly 100 losses, I’m still going into every fight with a big fat grin on my face and ready to show the other guy hell on earth. And keep in mind, after my friends watched season 4 of Ultimate Fighter – they began to call me Captain Miserable as well. Because I’m a negative douchebag. But if even I can go into a fight with a grin on my face and ready to bring war upon the other guy – even if I lost the other fight within the first minute – so can you.

5. Don’t let THQ boil your blood. In my honest opinion THQ delivered an unfinished game full of frustrating stuff and a countless number of bugs. Not even mentioning the online modus because it’s just not worth talking about (at least in central europe, even after the patch). The only thing you can do about this one is just accept it like another thing in your life and hope that Dana White sets a later deadline for the 2011 game so THQ can prevent this godforsaken number 5. 🙂

PREDICTABILITY IS YOUR ENEMY

Some of the new players (including me) have a habit of panicing when you’re, say.. On your back. And try to spam your way out of the mount, full guard or whatever. Don’t. Simply don’t, it’s bad, you bring your energy down – he’ll reverse you and he might bring you to the prison showers for some hanky-panky of the prison-kind. Developing patterns is obviously one of the biggest issues. Everyone does it, even if they deny it. There’s no way around it,so how can you help us with that goranstruwe? Well, let me tell you how you can be less predictable.

1. Don’t spam. It’s quite obvious why, as I mentioned that just a sentence ago. But it really has to be said more than once. Spamming transitions to get out of a position does indeed FEEL like it’s working. He might get knocked back one step in the guard – but if you just keep your same timing on the transitions – he’ll just reverse you and get into sideguard or halfguard. And not to mention, there’s a big chance you’ll have next to no energy left – which means you’ll get flash-subbed. There’s far more bad than good when trying to spam your way out of a situation.

2. Don’t play his game. If his scout record said he’s a devastating striker and a KO artist – then don’t stand with him. He’s obviously good at striking, and/or clinching. Bring him to your game instead and keep him there. If he’s a good ground and pounder, keep the fight on your feet or the clinch. Don’t let him take you down to the ground, where it’s his domain. You’re always going to be struggling to get the game into your conditions – but when you’re there – keep it there. Fight for it, if you have to use a takedown on every single one of his punches – do it. You’re going to keep a very predictable manner in his game, that’s why you don’t want to be playing with him. If he’s far greater than you, even if you like standing. If he’s OBVIOUSLY better than you – then simply don’t play according to his rules. That’s one of the biggest points of this game, really. Yes, you need to have a good base of skills with one/two specialities, don’t be stupid and play the game you’re not comfortable with.

3. Feints. If you like a gamestyle of being unpredictable, your best friend is the feint. I don’t know how many times I’ve been caught by feints and KTFO’d. You feint by pushing making a kick/punch/takedown and blocking nearly right away. There’s a better guide on this, but it helps with the unpredictability of the fight and mastering the feints will help you get ALOT better, ALOT faster.

4. Know your character. One of the biggest pointers of this segment is this. If you don’t know your character, you don’t know how to be unpredictable. I’m dead serious when I say, if you don’t bother to learn your character (specifically try to pick one/two in each weightclass) then you might as well put this game away because it’s such a vital point. If you ignore this, you might as well go play an RPG or something that shows your character’s status and such in front of you. Experimentation and practice mode is key here.

HAVE FUN GODDAMMIT

This one is self-explanatory. If you’re not having fun playing the game, then why are you? I know it’s overwhelming information needed to even be get past the “throwing random punches and throws”-stage, but it’s satisfying as all-hell once you get it down somewhat and you begin to soak information up like a sponge. An information sponge.

While this might be obvious for some, I figured I’d put it into text for others to see this and maybe change a little in their head to enjoy this game a bit more. It’s an experience, and it’s theraputic to play. And the MAIN reason I wrote this guide, was to put every single fault I do from time to time and be able to read upon it and just go “if I can type it down, I can do it as well.”

And that’s all for this guide. I might update with another segment at some point when I learn some more minor tricks. Thank you for reading this and good day.

~ by zeepsponsbakkes on 2010/08/02.

 
